Game of Thrones fans witnessed a significant revelation in the Season 7 finale where Jon Snow’s true lineage and true name was finally revealed. Bran and Sam declared that Snow’s true name is Aegon Targaryen and Jon has never been a bastard making him the true and rightful heir to the Iron Throne. However, Jon wasn’t the only one named Targaryen in the history of Westeros because aristocratic families tend to repeat the names of their ancestors who did great deeds in the past. To ease us from the confusion, here is a list of all the characters named Aegon.

The Conqueror

Being a key figure in Westerosi history, we all know who is what is commonly known as Aegon the Conqueror. He is the first king of the Targaryen dynasty, and he is the one who unified the seven warring kingdoms of Westeros with the help of his three dragons named Vhagar, Meraxes and the monstrous Balerion the Dread. Aegon I was also the one responsible for the construction of the Red Keep and the Iron Throne that was forged from the swords of his defeated enemies.

Son of Aenys I

The son of Aenys was the grandson of Aegon the Conqueror and the son of Aenys I who ascended the throne after the conqueror eventually died. The prince was supposed to be the next in line to the throne but didn’t happen because of some revolt.

Aenys proved to be a weak ruler when the Faith Militant rose up in open revolt because of the Targaryen’s incestuous marriage, and after Aenys fled, his brother Maegor seized power ahead of Aenys's children.

Son of Viserys I

Aegon II was a key figure in the civil war that came to be known as the Dance of Dragons. He fought his half-sister Rhaenyra for the throne after their father died and he emerged victoriously.

He was severely injured during the dragon battle in the war which resulted into his incapacity to rule. His growing unpopularity finally became so intense that his own men poisoned him after a few months of rule.

Son of Rhaenyra

Aegon III ascended after his uncle’s assassination. He was the son of the vanquished Rhaenyra whom he watched as Aegon II fed her to his dragon, Sunfyre.

He was married off to his cousin, Princess Jaehaera Targaryen (Aegon II’s daughter), to unite the two factions of the war.

The unworthy

Commonly known as Aegon the Unworthy, he was one of the worst kings in the Targaryen dynasty where he is described as a glutton and a weak leader. On his deathbed, Aegon IV legitimized all his bastard children, leading his bastard son, Daemon Blackfyre to declare himself the rightful heir to the Iron Throne and igniting another war for the crown.

The unlikely

Aegon V was the brother of Maester Aemon Targaryen of the Night’s Watch, and he is the father of Aerys II who later became known as the Mad King. He was also called as Aegon the unlikely because he was the fourth son of Maekar I which makes him very unlikely to inherit the throne.

His oldest brother Aerion, died by drinking wildfire, believing this would turn him into a dragon while his older brother Aemon refused the throne because of his vows as a maester.

Son of Rhaegar

The first son of Prince Rhaegar Targaryen was to Elia Martell who was murdered along with his mother and sister by the Mountain during the sack of Kings Landing. If he survived Robert’s rebellion, he would have ascended the throne as King Aegon VI.

Jon Snow is the second son of Rhaegar named Aegon, but this time to Lyanna Stark of the North. To protect him from Robert’s wrath, Eddard Stark claimed him as his bastard son and named him Jon Snow.