In the finale of “Game of Thrones” Season 7, Bran Stark and Sam Tarly have pieced together the puzzle that is Jon Snow’s true identity. In Season 1, Jon asked Ned Stark about his mother before he left for the Night’s Watch. Ned promised that they would talk about it when they met again, but it was never meant to be since he Ned was beheaded.

Ned may no longer be around to tell the story but Bran and his Three-eyed Raven powers are still here. It was revealed that Lyanna Stark was never abducted, raped and killed by Rhaegar Targaryen. Instead, they ran away together and got married in secret in Dorne.

Jon Snow is not a bastard, but instead, the legitimate son of Rhaegar and Lyanna and his real name is Aegon Targaryen.

If the name sounds familiar, it’s because there are other known characters in the world of “Game of Thrones” who used the same name. Similar to real life, some names are used repeatedly to honor tradition and their heritage. Another repeated name in “Game of Thrones” is Brandon Stark, there’s Bran the Three-eyed Raven, Bran the Builder and Bran the Breaker. So, who are the Aegon Targaryen in “Game of Thrones”?

The Kings

The very first known as King Aegon I or more popularly known as “Aegon the Conqueror”. With his wives (and sisters) Visenya and Rhaenys, and their dragons, they unified the Seven Kingdoms and ruled it as King.

He became the first King and created the Iron Throne.

After him, there were Aegon II to V, all of whom ascended the throne and became Kings. Aegon IV was also known as “Aegon the Unworthy” and is considered as one of the worst kings of the Targaryen dynasty.

King Aegon V is the father of the “Mad King” Aerys Targaryen and is the brother of Aemon Targaryen, the beloved Maester of Castle Black.

Maester Aemon popularly calls to Aegon V as “Egg”, and in his deathbed, he repeatedly called out to “Egg”.

Prince Aegon

Prince Aegon is the first son of Rhaegar Targaryen and Elia Martel. He was killed by Gregor “The Mountain” Clegane while still an infant, along with his sister Rhaenys and mother Elia. In Season 4, Oberyn Martel wanted justice for the death of his sister, niece, and nephew.

He tried to make The Mountain admit to the crimes he did to Elia and her children – which ultimately led to his own death.

Jon Snow

Raised as Ned Stark’s bastard and called Jon Snow, he was actually named Aegon Targaryen, the rightful heir to the Iron Throne. He is the only son of Rhaegar Targaryen and Lyanna Stark. While many celebrated the fact that he is the heir to the throne or the simple fact that he is a legitimate son, many others are wondering why he was given the same name as his half-brother.

Prince Rhaegar greatly believes in prophecies, the same reason why he wanted a third child – Three Dragon Heads. He also believes in The Prince That Was Promised/Azor Ahai prophecy. Some suggest that Rhaegar thought that 'the Prince that was Promised' is named Aegon, so he named his second son ‘Aegon’ thinking he might fulfill the prophecy. In addition to this, Aegon (Martel/Targaryen) was already dead when Jon was born.