The long-rumored Super NES classic has been confirmed, and the projected release date is September 29, 2017. Like its NES Classic predecessor, the replica of Nintendo's second gaming console is packed with a range of exciting games and apps. The $80 price tag gets you more than twenty classic games from the SNES era. The system ships with two SNES controllers, an HDMI cable, AC adapter, and USB charging cable. "Chrono Trigger," "ActRaiser," "Mortal Kombat II," "Illusion Of Gaia," and "Final Fight" are the most prominent games included as part of the SNES Classic Edition.

'Chrono Trigger'

"Chromo Trigger" is a role-playing game developed by Square Enix for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System. The game has been around since 1995, and its story follows several adventurers who travel through time to prevent a catastrophe. In 1999, Square released an updated version for PlayStation, and the game went on sale in Australia and the United States in February 2009. "Chrono Trigger" is currently available for iPhone, Virtual Console, iOS, and the PlayStation Network.


Developed and published in 1990, "ActRaiser" is a city-building simulation game. Quintet and Enix created the game for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System. "ActRaiser" is available for the Wii's Virtual Console, and the plot follows a creature known as The Master.

In 2016, ScrewAttack ranked "ActRaiser" No. 1 on its "Best Games That Fell Off" list.

'Mortal Kombat II'

"Mortal Kombat II" is a fighting game developed by Midway for the arcades in 1993. It has since been moved to a variety of consoles and systems, such as PC, Game Boy, Amiga, Sega Game Gear, Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Sega Genesis, PlayStation and Sega Saturn.

Discuss this news on Eunomia

"Mortal Kombat II" is the only game in the Mortal Kombat series that comes with improved gameplay and fantastic visuals.

'Illusion of Gaia'

Developed in 1993, "Illusion of Gaia" is one of the most famous action role-playing games. It was released for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System. While the game has a large cast of characters, Freedman, Shadow, and Will are the only playable characters.

Almost all of the characters share the same level of defense and health, but have varying levels of strength. As of March 2017, "Illusion of Gaia" was ranked the 186th best game made for the Nintendo system.

'Final Fight'

"Final Fight" is a series of video games developed by Capcom which started with the arcade release of "Final Fight" in 1989. Two sequels followed the original game for the SNES: "Final Fight 2" and "Final Fight Tough." A spin-off, "Final Fight Revenge," was released for Sega's Titan arcade in 1999, followed by a home version for the Sega Saturn titled "Final Fight: Streetwise."

Additionally, Nintendo claimed that the company has decided to include far better games for the SNES Classic Edition than the NES Classic Edition. Shipment is expected to begin by the end of October 2017.