The winners of 2017 MTV VMA awards have been announced and Kendrick Lamar stole the show after taking home six awards including Best Video of the Year. At the awards show, Jared Leto paid a touching tribute to Linkin Park frontman Chester Bennington.

Winners at MTV VMA 2017

Video of the Year: Kendrick Lamar won the award for his music video of “HUMBLE.” Other nominees in this segment were Bruno Mars (“24K Magic”), Alessia Cara (“Scars To Your Beautiful”), The Weeknd (“Reminder”) and Dj Khaled ft. Bryson Tiller & Rihanna (“Wild Thoughts”).

Song of the Summer

“XO Tour Llif3” by Lil Uzi Vert was announced the winner in this category. Ed Sheeran (“Shape of You”), Daddy Yankee and Luis Fonsi feat. Justin Bieber (“Despacito” – remix), Shawn Mendes (“There’s Nothing Holding Me Back”), Demi Lovato (“Sorry Not Sorry”), Camila Cabello feat. Quavo (“OMG”), DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller (“Wild Thoughts”) and Fifth Harmony feat. Gucci Mane (“Down”) were the nominees who lost.

Meanwhile, Artist of the year was awarded to Ed Sheeran. In this category, Bruno Mars, Ariana Grande, Kendrick Lamar, The Weeknd, and Lorde were also featured.

In the Best New Artist category, Khalid was the chosen one amongst Kodak Black, Young M.A, SZA, Noah Cyrus and Julia Michaels.

Taylor Swift and Zayn’s team effort in “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever” won the duo the Best Collaboration award at the MTV VMA awards. “Down” composed by Fifth Harmony feat. Gucci Mane dominated the Best Pop category and went past Shawn Mendes’ “Treat You Better,” Harry Styles’ “Sign of the Times,” Ed Sheeran’s “Shape of You,” Miley Cyrus’ “Malibu” and Katy Perry feat.

Skip Marley’s “Chained To The Rhythm” to win the award. Lamar’s dominance with “HUMBLE.” was seen in the Best Hip Hop section. Twenty One Pilots won in Best Rock section for their song “Heavydirtysoul.” Meanwhile, Zedd and Alessia Cara took home the Best Dance award for “Stay.”

Kendrick Lamar rules the awards show

Scott Cunningham was recognized for his exceptional camera work in Kendrick Lamar’s “HUMBLE.” and won the Best Cinematography award.

Lamar’s hit song also won the award for Best Direction (Dave Meyers & the little homies), Best Art Direction (Spencer Graves) and Best Visual Effects (TDE/Interscope/Aftermath) and (Lead – company and Jonah Hill – lead). Eric Degliomini and Ryan Staake won the Best Editing award for “Wyclef Jean” by Young Thug. Guapo, Teyana Taylor, Derek ‘Bentley’ Watkins and Jae Blaze were announced the Best Choreography winners for the work in “Fade” by Kanye West.