MTV network disclosed the nominees for the current year's Video Music Awards that will go live on August 27, 2017, in California. The nominations were announced by the network on Instagram on Tuesday.

This year's nomination chart is led by rapper Kendrick Lamar claiming the throne with eight nominations, that comprises "Video of the Year" for “HUMBLE,” "Artist of the Year" and "Best Hip-Hop". The video by Lamar is also nominated for the best cinematography, direction, visual effects, choreography and art direction categories.

Trailing behind him and standing tall in the second position are Katy Perry and The Weeknd with five nominations each.

The nominees for this year's premium honor "Artist of the year" presents some of the eminent figures of the musical universe like Kendrick Lamar, Bruno Mars, Ed Sheeran, Ariana Grande and Lorde.

Other famous nominations

Apart from Lamar's "Humble", the "Video of the Year" category boasts some amazing visuals nominees for the category. The nominees in the above category include Bruno Mars's "24k Magic", Alessia Cara's "Scars to Your Beautiful", DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna and Bryson Taylor's "Wild Thoughts" and The Weeknd's "Reminder".

This year's MTV Awards has launched a new category titled "Best Fight Against the System". This category is for the trend breaking musical videos that will motivate the world to act against corruption and injustice.

Securing a place in this category are Logic ft. Damian Lemar Hudson, Alessia Cara, Big Sean, John Legend, and Taboo ft. Shailene Woodley.

"Best New Artist" category is occupied by some extraordinary fresh talents, who were successful in making an impact on their marvelous music. The list includes Kodak Black, Khalid, SZA, Noah Cyrus, Young M.A and Julia Michaels.

Fifty Shades Darker song "I don't wanna live forever" has also gained a nomination in "Best Collaboration" category. The beautiful song was performed by Zayn Malik and Taylor Swift.

Facts to know about the MTV VMAs

The award ceremony that has banished the male and female categories merging them into one as Artist of the year in its 2017 edition has always been a sanctum of altercations.

The grand ceremony has witnessed some of the outrageous moments in the past decade the encompasses the abominable onstage kiss between the two hot ladies of music world Madonna and Britney Spears. It has also hosted the twerking moment of Miley Cyrus performing aside Robin Thicke in its 2013 edition.

The May edition of MTV Awards that honored artists from the movie and television world was won by Emma Watson and Millie Bobby Brown in the genderless category.