The NBA awards were announced Monday evening. Were they the right selections? Could there have been snubs or more deserving players? Let's dive into these award winners and see if they were the right decisions.

Most Valuable Player: Russell Westbrook

Westbrook averaged a triple-double during the season. He carried a team on his back once Kevin Durant left for Golden State. When the team needed a shot, steal, rebound, or assist, Westbrook was the man. Some could have made arguments for James Harden, Kawhi Leonard, or LeBron James, but Westbrook is the right decision for this award.

Westbrook not only gave Oklahoma City Thunder fans someone to watch from a statistical standpoint but emotionally as well. Durant hurt Thunder fans by leaving even though no one can blame him. Westbrook has stood true to their fans, and doesn't have any plans moving anytime soon.

Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green

Green led the league in steals at 2.03; however, Leonard was the choice for this award. Green was on a team that already had two other players that could play stellar defense in Klay Thompson and Andre Iguodala. His steals stats might have been padded thanks to others on his team. Leonard averaged 1.8 steals and always guarded the tough assignment. Leonard should have won this award for a third straight year.

Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo

Antetokounmpo was the fifth player to lead his team in points, rebounds, assists, steals, and blocks. One could make a case for Bradley Beal, or even the MVP Westbrook, but it's hard to pass up someone that leads five stat categories. The Bucks have a franchise player, and he could make a play for MVP down the road.

Coach of the Year: Mike D'Antoni

The Rockets broke the league record for three-point shots made in a season, but how disrespectful is it to not give this award to Brad Stevens? The Celtics coach took his team to a number one seed, and an Eastern Conference finals appearance. Stevens has transformed a team into a contender in the East, and he should have been credited this past season.

Rookie of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon

Brogdon was a second round draft pick that blossomed into a role player for the Bucks. Joel Embiid should have won this award. Brogdon averaged just over 10 points per contest, while Embiid doubled that by scoring 20 points a game. Brogdon has a nice success story, but it does not mean that he should have won Rookie of the Year.