The first Test of the Ashes series between England and Australia is being played in Brisbane from November 23, 2017. Joe Root and his boys have performed well in the practice matches, and they will be aiming to continue the same momentum as they lock horns with Steven Smith's team. Even though history is very much against England, the visitors will be trying hard to retain this legendary title following their 3-2 win in 2015.

Live updates: Day 1

England 196/4 in 80 overs.

England won the toss and elected to bat

Team News: England

England will miss the service of pacer Steven Finn as medical scans revealed a torn cartilage in his left knee.

As Finn will not be playing the opening match, Tom Curran will make his Test debut tomorrow for England. Jake Ball who recently recovered from a sprained ankle is expected to play this game.

Veteran batsman Alastair Cook and Mark Stoneman will open the innings for the English team. James Vince and Joe Root will bat at third and fourth positions respectively, while Dawid Malan will bat at number five.

Team News: Australia

The Australian side led by Steven Smith is considered the favorites to win the Brisbane test, as they have not lost a single game out of the 28 test matches played at this venue.

Even though history is in favor of the Aussies, the team will miss the service of a quality all-rounder. The Kangaroos are expected to play with four bowlers in their lineup; Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, and Josh Hazlewood.

David Warner will open the innings with Cameron Bancroft for the Aussies. Usman Khawaja will bat at number three followed by Steven Smith, Peter Handscomb, and Shaun Marsh.

There are some doubts over the fitness of David Warner, and if he is unable to play this match, Glenn Maxwell will make his way to the playing eleven.

Where to watch?

Sky Sports has been telecasting the Ashes series in the UK for the past ten years. BT Sport is Cricket Australia's official overseas partner. As BT has partnered with Cricket Australia, they will have the privilege to broadcast all the five Tests in this series, followed by all of Australia's home cricket matches for the next five years.

Sony has recently procured the Indian rights to broadcast all men's and women's international cricket played in Australia. Sony Six will be broadcasting this crucial series in India.

The live streaming can be watched on the official website of Sony Six.