The R&A announced on Monday that the British Open will be returning to Royal St. George in 2020. The Open, as it is often called, is one stop in the annual competition of male top golf players. Top players compete in four majors: the U.S. Open, the Masters, the British Open and the PGA Championship. The R&A is the ruling authority over golf in Great Britain and the rest of most of the world, while the United States Golf Association (USGA) takes authority over the U.S. and Mexico. The U.S. Open is the second in the series. Champions in the U.S. Open automatically receive invitations to play in the other majors.

The Open at Royal St. George will be played between July 12th and 19th, 2020. It is their first major open since 2011. In 2011, it was Darren Clarke, the Irishman who lifted the prestigious title. The club was under fire for its male only policy. It was only recently that the club lifted the ban and started to allow women golfers.

The British Open to be hosted by Royal St. George for the 15th time

The Royal St. George club withdrew its male only policy after 90% of its members voted against the policy in 2015. This will be the 15th time that the club will be hosting the major event.

If the club had failed to lift the ban on women golfers, they would have faced severe actions from R&A who were planning to remove the club from the Open rotation.

The news that they will be hosting the Open was welcomed well by golf lovers. Darren Clarke, in his statement, said that he is looking forward to the event as he has some good memories of the venue.

The British Open started in 1894

The St. George hosted the Open in the year 1894. In 1894, the event was won by JH Taylor; it was the first event that was held outside Scotland.

Many greats like Greg Norman, Sandy Lyle and Henry Cotton have emerged victorious from here. In the last 120 years, the club has produced some outstanding champions and golf fans all around the world are looking forward to seeing the top golfers once again for a championship contest.

The club authorities thanked the fans and officials for giving them an opportunity to host the games.

James Furber, captain of the Royal St. George, in his official statement said that his team was delighted and honored to host the 2020 championship. Furber added that he considered it as a great opportunity and commercial prospect for the club. He also thanked the local MPs and those who fought for lifting the ban on the club after the club members voted against the male only policy in the year 2015.

St. Andrews will host the 150th anniversary of the Open

It has also been decided that after Royal St. George hosts the 149th championship, St. Andrews will host the 150th championship event in the year 2021. This year’s British Open will be held July 16 - 23, 2017, at the Royal Birkdale, in St. Andrews, Scotland.