Generating more than $500 million, the “Not In This Lifetime” tour of Guns n’ Roses has been a recipient of the inaugural Touring Milestone Award. Ticketmaster, which established the Touring Milestone Award, recognized Guns n’ Roses’ global expedition and 16 other tours that ended in 2018 for generating solid attendance. The Guns were behind Lady Gaga in the list of winners.

The award to Guns 'n Roses

The award is given to a tour that generates more than 500,000 global tickets. In 2018, Ticketmaster said it sold nearly 500 million tickets worldwide from 700 tours backed by its artist services division, Ticketmaster Music.

The winners

Aside from the Guns and Lady Gaga, other recipients of the 2018 Ticketmaster Touring Milestone Award are:

  • JAY-Z and Beyonce, OTR II
  • Depeche Mode, Global Spirit Tour
  • Roger Waters, Us + Them Tour
  • Foo Fighters, Concrete and Gold Tour
  • Bruno Mars, 24K Magic World Tour
  • Taylor Swift, reputation Stadium Tour\
  • Kevin Hart, The Irresponsible Tour
  • Imagine Dragons, ƎVOLVE World Tour
  • Luke Bryan, What Makes You Country Tour
  • Shania Twain, Now Tour
  • Dave Matthews Band, Summer 2018 Tour
  • Drake, Aubrey & The Three Migos
  • Jason Aldean, High Noon Neon Tour

The band

Original members Axl Rose, Slash, Duff McKagan and the gang started “Not In This Lifetime” in April 2016 playing at 159 shows in 42 countries.

They ended the tour in Hawaii on December 8, 2018. Following the tour’s massive success, the hard rockers’ next stop could be the studio. Last month, guitarist Slash said in an interview that the band has new material and that they are hoping to release a new record.

A new album will be the first that will feature Slash and McKagan in more than two decades.

The last Guns album that the two participated was the Spaghetti Incident, a cover of hit rock songs, released in 1993. Guns’ sixth and last album, the “Chinese Democracy,” was released in 2008. A project of Rose with the help of other musicians he recruited following the breakup of the original lineup, the album gained only modest success despite praises from music critics.

The band gained worldwide prominence via the “Appetite for Destruction,” its debut album released in 1987 that included massive hits “Welcome To The Jungle,” “Paradise City,” and “Sweet Child O’ Mine.” The album also featured other original members rhythm guitarist Izzy Stradlin and drummer Steven Adler.