Grammy Winner Sam Smith partnered with hip-hop artist Logic, creating a new release version of his hit song “Pray” from the sophomore album “The Thrill of It All.” This amazing duo gives “Pray” a mellow sound with a hip-hop edge. Logic is buzzing in the music industry with his latest global hit song “1-800-273-8255,” and his second No.1 on the Billboard 200, “Bobby Tarantino II.” The new version of “Pray” is available now on YouTube with better sound than the original.

‘Everyone prays in the end’

“Pray” is the second single from Smith’s album “The Thrill of It All” which dropped last year in October 2017.

Kiss 98.5 reported that Smith collaborated with Timbaland and James on the original version of “Pray.” Together the trio’s writing credentials gave the song a “gospel-feel.” According to Billboard, the inspiration for “Pray” came when Smith spent time with a charity in Iraq called “War Child.” Smith explained to Billboard how most of the songs he wrote were about love, but the trip to Iraq opened up his eyes to issues of the world.

Logic opens the song with lyrics such as, "I been thinking lately will the devil take? Or will God protect me?" Smith follows up with his original verses such as, “I’m young and I'm foolish, I made bad decisions, I block out the news, turn my back on religion” and “Everyone prays in the end.”

NME reported Smith's Twitter post, “I am so excited for you to hear this new version of one of my favourite tracks on the album.

It was an absolute pleasure to collaborate with Logic to create this, such an incredible artist.”

It’s common for an artist to re-release songs

Maryland rapper Logic has been a rising star for years, who began to shine in 2017 with the success of his album “Everybody.” Logic’s hit single “1-800-273-8255” featuring Alessia Cara and Khalid earned a Grammy nomination and peaked at No.

3 on the Hot 100.

The new version of “Pray” featuring Logic has a completely different sound. According to Forbes, it’s common for an artist to re-release a song with an artist who was not originally featured, as it breathes new life into an old song.

In 2015, Smith had re-released his debut album “In The Lonely Hour” with a new track called “Drowning Shadows.” Prior to the second album, Smith renamed his debut album “In The Lonely Hour: The Drowning Shadows Edition.” Smith also re-recorded “Lay Me Down,” another hit song form his debut album.

‘The Thrill Of It All’

Smith, 25, is a four-time Grammy winner with five top 10 singles. Smith also won three Billboard Music Awards and an Oscar for his theme song “Writing’s on the Wall,” for the 2015 James Bond film “Spectre.” According to Billboard, Smith has a voice in the industry that people want to hear when they are sad. "I'll never write happy songs," said Smith.

“The Thrill of It All is Smith's sophomore album, which debuted at No.1 on the Billboard 200 last November. The album is full of emotions and lyrics inspired by heartbreak. Tickets are already on sale for Sam Smith’s 2018 summer tour “The Thrill of It All.”