The hit classic children’s show Sesame Street has joined the bandwagon for making their own version of the viral song Despacito.” The classic program’s take on the trending music video was in the form of parody. Titled “El Patito,” the video was released on the official YouTube channel of “Sesame Street” this week.

The video showed some of the main characters from the show such as Ernie, Bert, and Rubber Duckie. It ran for about two minutes, featuring an outdoor setting complete with bubbles that depicted the summer season.

Parody song

Part of the lyrics of “El Patito” was taken from the viral Spanish-language song.

The song was performed by Ernie singing, "Rubber Duckie, it is a connection, It doesn't have to be a tubby session, ya, Take my day from zero to eleven, ya, Vo-doh-eh-oh! You are."

The popular song “Despacito” is translated into English as “Slowly,” according to Billboard. The translated lyrics read, “Slowly, I want to breathe in your neck slowly, Let me murmur things in your ear So that you remember if you’re not with me.”

Meanwhile, the parody song by “Sesame Street” titled “El Patito” is translated as “The Little Duck.” Since it was released, the video has already earned more than 630,000 views on YouTube.

“Sesame Street” is an award-winning children’s show on PBS that began airing in 1969. From the moment it first aired, the show has already received several accolades, including multiple Emmy Awards and Peabody Awards.

It is now running on its 47th season.


“Despacito” is a song performed by Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee. It has been hailed as the most watched YouTube video of all time, according to Billboard. The video has now earned more than three billion views as of press time.

It has been nominated for the “Song of the Summer” category at the 2017 MTV Video Music Awards.

The song by Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee joins other musical performances in the category such as Ed Sheeran’s “Shape of You,” Lil Uzi Vert’s "XO Tour Llif3," Shawn Mendes’ “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back,” and Fifth Harmony featuring Gucci Mane’s “Down.”

The nominees for the category also includes Camila Cabello featuring Quavo’s “OMG,” DJ Khaled featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller’s “Wild Thoughts, and Demi Lovato’s “Sorry Not Sorry.” Watch the MTV VMAs 2017 on Sunday, August 27 live from The Forum in Inglewood, California. There will also be remote performances in Las Vegas.