Trump's new travel restrictions target people entering the United States from North Korea, Chad and Venezuela. There are now eight countries where Trump has issued strict travel restrictions to people traveling the to U.S. Trump has renewed his travel bans days before his previous one expired. The six countries that had travel restrictions were Libya, Syria, Yemen, Iran, Sudan and Somalia. Trump has relaxed travel restrictions for non-immigrant visitors from Somalia, while students and other exchange visitors from Iran will now be allowed to travel to the United States.

Sudan has been removed from the list. Chad and North Korean nationals will no longer be authorized to enter the United States while restrictions on Venezuela target government officials and their families. The new changes are set to take effect on October 18th.

Information coming from the White House

According to the White House, nationals from the new countries pose a safety and security threat to the United States and its citizens. The White House, with the help of The Secretary of Homeland Security, the Secretary of State and the Attorney General, also determined that North Korea and Venezuela lack information sharing management protocols and practices while Chad harbors terrorists within its territory.

The new countries on the list

The White House stated that Chad does not share public-safety and terrorism-related information adequately and that it does not satisfy at least one key U.S risk criterion.

Terrorist groups such as ISIS-West Africa, Boko Haram, and al-Qa'ida in the Islamic Maghreb are also active within chad and its surrounding regions according to the White House statement. The president has suspended the issuance of immigrant and nonimmigrant entries for B-1 and B-2 business and tourist visas in that country.

With regards to North Korea, the White House stated that North Korea does not cooperate with the U.S in any way and fails to satisfy information sharing requirements it has set. This is the main reason why immigrant and nonimmigrant entries from that country have been suspended.

Venezuela, on the other hand, fails to verify whether its citizens traveling to the United States pose public safety risks. The country also does not share terrorism, and public safety information with the U.S. Venezuela also does not cooperate in receiving its deported nationals; this has forced the United States to imposed travel restrictions to Venezuelan government officials who are responsible for the information sharing inadequacies.