Former NBA players who are finalists for the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2019

Ben Wallace was named Defensive Player of the Year four times. [Image Source: Flickr | Derral Chen]
Ben Wallace was named Defensive Player of the Year four times. [Image Source: Flickr | Derral Chen]

Chris Webber and Sidney Moncrief were two of the 13 individuals who were named finalists.

Don’t miss on the latest updates
Click on the topic that interests you to follow it. We will keep you updated with the news you shouldn’t miss.
Click to watch the video
Blasting News

On Saturday, the 2019 finalists for the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame were announced . Thirteen names are included on the list as reported by SI, seven of which are former NBA players.

(The six finalists who weren't NBA players are men's college basketball coach Eddie Sutton, NBA coach Bill Fitch, women's college basketball coach Barbara Stevens, women's high school basketball coach Leta Andrews, WNBA player Teresa Weatherspoon, and NBA referee Hugh Evans.)

Here’s a look at how those seven fared while in the pros.


Marques Johnson (Bucks 1977-84, Clippers 1984-87, Warriors 1989-90)

According to Yahoo, this is the first time that Johnson has been named a finalist. Johnson was a five-time All-Star in his 11 NBA seasons and was also named to three All-NBA teams (once First Team, twice Second Team). He was the Comeback Player of the Year for the 1985-86 season. In 691 career games, he posted averages of 20.1 points, 7.0 rebounds, 3.6 assists, and 1.3 steals.


Bobby Jones (Nuggets 1974-78, 76ers 1978-86)

A defensive wizard, Jones was named to 10 All-Defensive First Teams in his 12 professional seasons (including the first two in the ABA). He was named Sixth Man of the Year in the 1982-83 season on a 76ers team that went on to win the NBA championship. He played 941 games in the ABA/NBA and finished with averages of 12.1 points, 6.1 rebounds, 2.7 assists, 1.5 steals, and 1.4 blocks.

Content sponsored by Outbrain