Facebook is under bombardment from forces that were once thought to be beyond the social media network's grasp. Just this past weekend, it was discovered that seemingly private information was acquired from Facebook by Cambridge Analytica, affected over 50 million users.

As Facebook remains under fire, users must seize their own privacy destiny. For many, that means deleting their account altogether - a person can't see information if there's no information being presented.

Don’t miss on the latest updates Follow the tech Channel

This isn't a realistic option for most users, though. Instead, changing privacy settings is likely the go-to move. A report by CNBC presented most of the information used in this article.

Adjusting your Facebook settings

To change the settings on your account on the desktop, go to the drop-down arrow on the top right of the page. After clicking on settings, go to the privacy section. From there, you can make individual adjustments about what you want people to see in your Facebook activity, as well as an ability to pick and choose those who can (and can't) see certain pieces of information.

Sometimes, that isn't enough. Strangers and digital predators can creep into your friend list posing as someone you think you know, or met one time, or works at the same place, or any number of explanations. There's never a bad time to audit who you've connected with on Facebook. If you don't know someone or someone seems suspicious - maybe their account is empty or links to a lot of unfamiliar places - delete them immediately.

Your activity on Facebook could also welcome unwanted guests. Playing games or quizzes, or allowing third parties to gain access to certain account information, can put you at risk. Generally, these activities will prompt a message about the information you're giving away by participating. If you don't feel comfortable, turn back. There's generally an ability to change your mind (and settings) in the future, but by that point, it might be too late to protect your information.

The nuclear option

Of course, you could always just delete your Facebook account. Sure, you wouldn't disappear without a trace - things on the internet truly do live forever. But it would still eliminate a major digital footprint you leave every day. It's at least worth considering if privacy is of high priority to you. On the internet, nothing you do is truly private. The best way to maintain privacy is to live off the grid. Adjusting your Facebook account is a good step for those not ready to remove themselves from the modern world.