Advertisements
Advertisements

The 2017 #Thanksgiving Day NFL schedule has three games on it. Each one of them has playoff implications, with several teams in must-win situations to get back into the thick of things in the NFC. While there are certainly some interesting matchups on the NFL schedule, this year doesn’t present any of the great rivalries or pit two of the top teams from this season against one another.

These three Week 12 games take place on November 23, with the start times staggered so that die-hard NFL fans can watch all of the games. It should be a Thanksgiving Day packed with NFL action.

Minnesota Vikings vs. Detroit Lions (9:30 AM PT / 12:30 PM ET)

The Minnesota Vikings are now 8-2 after beating the Los Angeles Rams [VIDEO] in Week 11.

Advertisements

The team is behind only the Philadelphia Eagles (9-1) for the best record in the NFC. This game is extremely important in the NFC North standings, as the Detroit Lions can get right back in the race if they can pull off an upset on Thanksgiving Day. They enter this game at 6-4 on the year.

As it’s the early game, this is the one that most football fans are going to watch on Thanksgiving Day and it is certainly the most important one on the docket. The Lions and Vikings both have playoff aspirations, making this a desperate opportunity for the two teams to make a statement. A victory by the Vikings would just about clinch the division, while a win by the Lions could get them very close to a Wild Card spot.

Los Angeles Chargers vs. Dallas Cowboys (1:30 PM PT / 4:30 PM ET)

The Dallas Cowboys (5-5) are in a desperate position as they host the #Los Angeles Chargers (4-6).

Advertisements

The Cowboys have to go on a winning streak to get back into playoff contention and they have to do it without suspended running back #Ezekiel Elliott. The Chargers are already out of the race but keeping hope alive that they too can go on an extended winning streak to end the season.

New York Giants vs. Washington Redskins (5:30 PM PT / 8:30 PM ET)

In the least appetizing game for Thanksgiving Day, the Washington Redskins (4-6) host the New York Giants (2-8) in what was supposed to be an exciting battle between NFC East rivals. Instead, the two teams have suffered numerous injuries and have dropped in the standings. Redskins quarterback Kirk Cousins looks to get his team back on track and keep the slim hopes of a Wild Card spot alive in the NFC.

More NFL news

Additional news from around the league includes the Kansas City Chiefs signing Darrelle Revis [VIDEO] to a contract and Josh Gordon returning to practice [VIDEO] for the Cleveland Browns.