The 2019 NCAA Division I women's ice hockey championship has been decided. For the fifth time, the University of Wisconsin-Madison has come out on top.

It caps off a great season for the Wisconsin Badgers. One of several for the program since its inception. And, given their opponent in the title game, it might be even more special.

The Badgers shutout the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities for the championship

Wisconsin's 2019 championship game via their victory over their biggest rival, the Minnesota Golden Gophers. It marked the third time that the two programs met for the top prize in women's college ice hockey.

The two teams had shortly before met in the championship game for the Western Collegiate Hockey Association. Wisconsin was also victorious at that time.

The final score was 2-0, as per the Wisconsin State Journal. Both goals came from the team captains. Sophia Shaver, a Minnesota native, notched a goal in the first period. As WISN reports, Annie Pankowski came through with a short-handed goal in the second period.

Goaltender Kristen Campbell was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player. The shutout posted over the Golden Gophers was the third in a row. In the semi-finals, they defeated the Golden Knights of Clarkson University. The Golden Knights had won the championship of ECAC Hockey and were the two-time defending NCAA champions.

In the quarterfinals, the Badgers bested the Syracuse Orange, champions of College Hockey America.

Another victory for a storied hockey school

The University of Wisconsin-Madison features one of the most respected hockey traditions in the United States. Both the men's and women's teams are among the most successful in the history of the NCAA.

The home venue for the women's team is LaBahn Arena. The arena is one of the first two arenas specifically built for a women's college ice hockey team. The other is Ridder Arena, home of the Minnesota Golden Gophers.

The women's team has achieved eight Frozen Four appearances, with five championships. Additionally, they have the most tournament game victories of any program.

Five winners of the Patty Kazmaier Award, given to the nation's top female ice hockey player, have been Badgers. Several Badgers have played for the United States and Canada in the Olympics. Head coach Mark Johnson has the most wins in the history of women's Division I ice hockey.

Johnson is something of an institution at the school. He was raised in Madison and played for the Badgers men's team. With the team, he won the 1977 national championship and was a two-time All-American. In 1980, he was named team MVP of the United States 'Miracle on Ice' Olympic gold medal team. He also had an 11-year NHL career and was an All-Star in 1984. Johnson's father, 'Badger Bob' Johnson, was inducted in the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1992.

He coached the Badger men to three national championships. In the NHL, he coached two teams to the Stanley Cup Finals, winning with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1991. He was also President of USA Hockey.