Giancarlo Stanton was named National League MVP on Thursday becoming the first Miami Marlins (formerly Florida Marlins) player to receive the honor in their 25-year history. Stanton’s magical season saw him hit 59 home runs with 18 of them coming in the month of August.

Here are the highest finishes in National League MVP voting in Marlins history prior to Stanton taking home the hardware.

2014 - Giancarlo Stanton, 2nd

Stanton led the National League in home runs (37), slugging percentage (.555), and total bases (299) in 2014. He also hit .288 with 31 doubles, 105 RBIs, and 89 runs.

Stanton would have had a good chance to beat out eventual winner Clayton Kershaw if he didn’t miss the final 17 games due to facial fractures from being hit by a pitch.

2009 - Hanley Ramirez, 2nd

Ramirez won the National League batting crown in 2009 with a .342 average. In 151 games, he finished with 24 home runs, 42 doubles, 106 RBIs, 101 runs, and 27 stolen bases. While Ramirez finished second, the voting wasn’t exactly close as Albert Pujols was named MVP unanimously.

2005 - Miguel Cabrera, 5th

Just 22 years old for the majority of the 2005 season, Cabrera played in 158 games and batted .323 with 33 home runs, 43 doubles, 116 RBIs, and 106 runs.

2006 - Miguel Cabrera, 5th

A year later and still just 23 at the time, Cabrera once again had a fifth place finish in National League MVP voting in 2006.

He hit for a .339 average and hit 26 home runs and 50 doubles. He ended the year with 114 RBIs, 112 runs, and nine stolen bases.

2005 - Carlos Delgado, 6th

2005 was the only season Delgado spent with the Marlins, but it resulted in a sixth place finish in National League MVP voting. He played in 144 games finishing with a .301 average along with 33 home runs, 41 doubles, 115 RBIs, and 81 runs.

1996 - Gary Sheffield, tied for 6th

Sheffield led the National League with a .465 on-base percentage and 1.090 OPS in 1996. His impressive offensive season saw him hit .314 with 42 home runs, 33 doubles, 120 RBIs, 118 runs, 142 walks, and 16 stolen bases.

1997 - Moises Alou, 10th

During the Marlins’ 1997 World Series Championship season, Alou finished 10th in National League MVP voting.

In 150 games, he batted .292 with 23 home runs, 29 doubles, 115 RBIs, 88 runs, and nine stolen bases.

2007 - Hanley Ramirez, 10th

In 2007, Ramirez finished second in the National League with 212 hits and 125 runs, third with 51 stolen bases and 48 doubles, and fifth with a .332 average. He also hit 29 home runs and had 81 RBIs.

2003 - Juan Pierre, 10th

The Marlins won the World Series in 2003, and Pierre finished 10th in National League MVP voting. He led the league with 65 steals and batted .305 with one home run, 28 doubles, seven triples, 41 RBIs, and 100 runs.