LeBron James was drafted in 2003 with the 1st overall pick to the Cleveland Cavaliers. He is now entering his 15th season a decade and a half later, and he has had a lot of success and earned a lot of accomplishments since that time. Four regular season MVP awards, three Finals MVP awards, 13 all-star game appearances, 11 All-NBA first team selections and many broken records. But this upcoming season, the King has the chance to once again make history with more bling to add to the trophy case. The NBA general managers around the league all made votes on who they predict to be the 2018 Most Valuable Player, and there was one man who stood above the rest, as published by NBA.com

LeBron to win his 5th MVP award?

The NBA general managers from all 30 basketball teams once again voted on their predictions for this upcoming season.

They predicted the most exciting team to watch, the NBA champions, the best defender, the best leader and the most athletic player just to name a few. But as expected, the one that has gained the most interest in NBA fans was the predictions for the 2017-18 NBA Most Valuable Player.

According to 15 of 30 NBA general managers around the league, LeBron James will win his 5th MVP this season. Five different players received votes from general managers, those players include Stephen Curry and Kevin Durant of the Golden State Warriors, James Harden of the Houston Rockets, Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs and of course LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers.

Here is how the votes stacked up for 2017-18 MVP predictions:

  1. LeBron James – 50 percent
  2. Kevin Durant – 29 percent
  3. Kawhi Leonard – 11 percent
  4. James Harden – 7 percent
  5. Stephen Curry – 4 percent

Key name missing?

After these results came out, a lot of speculation was drawn to the player that wasn’t voted by any general managers to be the 2018 NBA Most Valuable Player.

That player is Russell Westbrook from the Oklahoma City Thunder. Westbrook just came off an MVP season in 2016-17 where he averaged a triple double throughout the whole season, something that hadn’t been done since the 1970’s when Oscar Robertson achieved it. So it came to the surprise of many that the superstar point guard did not even receive a MVP vote from any of the general managers.

During the offseason, the Oklahoma City Thunder acquired all-stars Paul George and Carmelo Anthony which seemingly has improved their roster a significant amount in comparison to last season when Russell Westbrook had to carry the load. So this is likely the reason that no GM’s believe Westbrook will win the MVP trophy once again.