The #New York #Cosmos now have three members of the El Salvador national team on their squad after announcing the signing of Richard Menjivar on Thursday. The midfielder joins Andres Flores and Irvin Herrera to complete the trifecta.

Cosmos coach happy about signing

Cosmos head coach Giovanni Savarese, who has been the team's coach since they returned to the NASL a few years ago, indicated that he's very happy with the signing of Menjivar. Savarese noted Menjivar's smarts and experience as positives for the team.

Menjivar’s #NASL experience dates back to 2013 when he made 22 appearances for the Atlanta Silverbacks.

He was named to the league’s Best XI that season and helped the Silverbacks reach the Soccer Bowl, which ended in a loss to the Cosmos. In 2014, he was a key member of the Soccer Bowl Champion San Antonio Scorpions. Menjivar praised the success of the historic Cosmos franchise and noted how he'll work hard to get better to be able to be a part of the team's winning ways. His transition will probably be made easier by having fellow countrymen with him in New York.

Cosmos game date change

The Cosmos also announced a game date change for a match during the upcoming spring season. The previously scheduled road soccer match against North Carolina FC that was slated for Friday, June 2, has been moved to Sunday, June 4.

A kick-off time has not been announced.

New York’s season begins in just over a month when the team will travel to face Puerto Rico FC on Saturday, March 25. The Cosmos have their home opener at MCU Park in Brooklyn vs. Miami FC on Saturday, April 1, at 7 pm ET. MCU Park takes over as the Cosmos’ new home venue after a few seasons of playing home contests at Hofstra University.

Cosmos history

The Cosmos are the two-time defending NASL Champions with eight overall league titles. Back on Nov. 13, 2016, New York defeated Indy Eleven on penalty kicks (4-2) to take home its latest championship.

The historic soccer franchise began play in the NASL back in 1971 and spent 14 years in the league. They won five championships during that time, with a roster highlighted by legendary stars, including Pele, Giorgio Chinaglia, Franz Beckenbauer, and Carlos Alberto.