WWE Crown Jewel 2018 results include AJ Styles, surprise winners

The latest WWE event in Saudi Arabia featured a new champion and World Cup winner.

A total of 12 matches were a part of WWE's Crown Jewel event on Friday (November 2). During the pre-show, Shinsuke Nakamura defeated Rusev to retain the United States Championship. Below are some of the major highlights for the main match card in terms of match winners from Saudi Arabia.


Brock Lesnar defeated Braun Strowman

While four titles were on the line at Crown Jewel, just one was given to a new owner. The WWE Universal title was vacated by Roman Reigns ahead of the event, leading to this big match. Ahead of the bout, Baron Corbin hit Braun Strowman with the belt, which led to Brock ultimately winning the Universal title. That gives Brock the belt for another reign, much to the dismay of many fans.


AJ Styles defeated Samoa Joe

Styles came into the match holding the WWE Championship for a nice one-year-and-counting reign. He will now extend that reign, after hitting a Phenomenal Forearm on Joe for the pinfall win. Next up, Styles is headed to Survivor Series to face Brock Lesnar for a rematch of last year's Champion vs Champion match.


D-Generation X defeated The Brothers of Destruction.

This match marked Shawn Michaels' return to the ring, for the first time since 2010. He and his friend, Triple H, were able to collect the win, but, unfortunately, Hunter also sustained a legit injury with a torn pectoral muscle.


The Bar defeated The New Day

The Bar gained help, again, from their new ally, The Big Show, to retain the SmackDown tag team titles. Show interfered with a KO punch on Big E toward the end. Sheamus connected with a Brogue Kick to help capture the pinfall victory.


Surprise World Cup tournament winner

Four quarterfinals matches, two semifinals matches, and a finals match later, saw a surprise World Cup winner. Mysterio, Rollins, The Miz, and Dolph Ziggler emerged as winners. Ultimately, it was down to Miz vs Ziggler, but since Miz was hurt, Shane McMahon filled in. Shane won the tournament, shocking fans as he was crowned the top wrestler at the event.

Click to read more and watch the video