Morten Andersen is one of the best kickers in NFL history. Even if his place in history was secure, his chances to make the Pro Football Hall of Fame were tenuous at best. After all, kickers rarely hit the elite status necessary to make it, and even if they do, they normally play another position to buoy their candidacy. None of that mattered on Saturday night, though, as Andersen received the honor all professional football players spend careers dreaming about.

Hall of Fame vote

The voting for the Hall of Fame was revealed on Saturday night along with other end-of-season honors in the NFL.

Along with Andersen, the other honorees for the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame class are San Diego Chargers running back LaDanian Tomlinson, Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner, Miami Dolphins defensive end Jason Taylor, and Denver Broncos running back Terrell Davis. Additionally, Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones and Seattle Seahawks safety Kenny Easley were voted in by separate committees.

The vote was not without controversy, however, as famed wide receiver Terrell Owens did not make the Hall of Fame, leading to him bashing the process on Twitter. He went on to congratulate the incoming class, but many felt he was more deserving of enshrinement than Andersen.

A kicking career

Andersen is just the second pure kicker to make the Pro Football Hall of Fame, following in the footsteps of Jan Stenerud.

He is both the all-time NFL leader in games played and the all-time leader in points scored. He also holds the scoring record for two different franchises.

Andersen played for the New Orleans Saints for thirteen years, where he did the brunt of his work, in addition to two stints with the Atlanta Falcons. The Hall of Fame kicker made seven Pro Bowls and was named to the All-Decade Team for both the 1980s and 1990s. The fourth-round draft pick made 565 of his 709 career field goal attempts, both NFL records. His conversion percentage on field goals was .797, while he missed just ten extra points in his career.