Mary Pat Christie, the wife of GOP Governor Chris Christie, was stopped and ticketed for "Distracted Driving" in April 2017. The video of the Bernardsville, New Jersey traffic stop has been released by the authorities. Governor Christie implemented a "crack down" on "distracted driving" for the month of April. Perhaps Governor Christie, who was overlooked by Trump as a possible running mate in 2016, had failed to advise his wife of the program. Allegedly, Ms. Christie was not using the phone, but was "holding" it in her hand. Under New Jersey law, a person can be issued a citation for holding their phone, or, for that matter, any electronic device, while driving.

Did not pull rank

To the New Jersey First Lady's credit, she did not pull rank on the officer by informing him of her status. Whether or not such information would have made a difference is unknown. However, the political ramifications that could have resulted from any attempt on her part to pull rank would have been horrific. Governor Christie has already had enough bad press emanating from the Bridgegate Scandal and the forced lane closures on the George Washington Bridge. His career could not endure any additional embarrassment. Apparently, Mary Pat Christie instinctively knew this. On the other hand, perhaps she is democratic enough to believe that nobody should have any privileges over anybody else in the legal system.

Coffee in hand

In the video, Ms. Christie was overheard asking the officer what would have happened if she had been holding a cup of coffee in her hand.

The officer stated that technically, a person could be pulled over and cited even for holding a cup of coffee in their hand while driving. The officer then explained that it's "cell phone distracted driver month," according to ABC News on Thursday.

A $250 fine

It was revealed by the authorities that Ms. Christie pleaded guilty and paid a $250 fine. Whether or not she attended traffic school is unknown. If a person is rendered eligible to attend traffic school, depending on the violation that they committed, they can get the conviction overturned. Once the conviction is overturned, the drivers' points will be restored to their driving record and their insurance rates will not be affected. However, if a person is not eligible to attend traffic school for at least 18 months, any citations issued during that period cannot be erased from their record.