The second Federal Court of Appeals blocked President Donald Trump's decree about a travel ban on the entry of the citizens of six predominantly Muslim countries into the United States on Monday, the New York Times reported. District Judge Derrick Watson suspended the decree on the eve of its entry into force throughout the country.

The decision was taken by the Ninth Circuit Court in San Francisco. Earlier, a similar decision had been taken by the Fourth Court of Appeals in Richmond, Virginia. After a number of courts suspended the ban's entry into force, the Trump administration formally appealed to the Supreme Court with a request to restore the decree.


According to the Fourth Circuit, Trump revised decree violated the First Amendment's prohibition of government establishment of religion.

Trump's first decree

Trump signed a new decree on March 6, that imposed a temporary ban on entering the US by the citizens of the six countries of the Middle East and North Africa from a predominantly Muslim population, who, according to US data, were helping terrorists or in which terrorists found the refuge. The first similar decree was signed by Trump on January 27, that was, a week after his inauguration but in an earlier decision, the Ninth Circuit blocked Trump’s first travel ban decree.

It was noted by Judge Watson that President Trump's statements and advisers provided the thought that his aim was to stop Muslims going into the country.

“A reasonable, objective observer — enlightened by the specific historical context, contemporaneous public statements and specific sequence of events leading to its issuance — would conclude that the executive order was issued with a purpose to disfavor a particular religion,”

Watson wrote that any objective observer, relying on the special context and some exact public opinions, as well as the events themselves, could find out that the goal for such an executive order was to disgrace one particular religious denomination.

Black Listed countries for Travel ban

According to Reuters, the Fourth Court of Appeal recognized the ban "full of religious intolerance, prejudice, and discrimination."

The new order’s 90-day ban on residents of six Muslim countries - Syria, Sudan, Iran, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen to enter the United States was subjected to case-by-case exceptions and limited.

In the "black list" there had been seven countries, including Iraq, which was excluded from it.

The exception was the citizens who, at the time of signing the decree, have already been issued an American visa or the residence permit. The term of restrictions on the reception of refugees remained unchanged - 120 days.