10 best non-lottery players selected since 2010 including Giannis Antetokounmpo

Giannis Antetokounmpo is the reigning MVP and Defensive Player of the Year. [Image Source: Flickr | Dan Garcia]
Giannis Antetokounmpo is the reigning MVP and Defensive Player of the Year. [Image Source: Flickr | Dan Garcia]

Nine of the ten players listed have been named an All-Star at least once.

Don’t miss on the latest updates
Click on the topic that interests you to follow it. We will keep you updated with the news you shouldn’t miss.
Click to watch the video
Blasting News

With the 2020 NBA Draft taking place on Wednesday, many websites have been posting their mock drafts. Bleacher Report put up their last mock draft on Monday.

While it’s always more likely that your team will draft a future star the earlier they pick, sometimes there are gems that are found later. Here are the ten best players that have been selected outside the lottery since 2010. The lottery are the first 14 picks which are made by teams that did not reach the playoffs.

There have been plenty taken outside the lottery who have turned into excellent players. Some honorable mentions include Eric Bledsoe (2010 - 18th overall), Hassan Whiteside (2010 - 33rd overall), Isaiah Thomas (2011 - 60th overall), Jusuf Nurkic (2014 - 19th overall), Clint Capela (2014 - 25th overall), Montrezl Harrell (2015 - 32nd overall), Josh Richardson (2015 - 40th overall), Caris LeVert (2016 - 20th overall), Malcolm Brogdon (2016 - 36th overall), and John Collins (2017 - 19th overall).

A debate can be broken out as to who should be first among the first two names, but championship experience prevailed.


Kawhi Leonard (2011 - 15th overall)

A two-time champion (once with the Spurs and once with the Raptors), Leonard was named Finals MVP both times and won back-to-back Defensive Player of the Year awards for 2014-15 and 2015-16.


Giannis Antetokounmpo (2013 - 15th overall)

Fourteen teams passed on Antetokounmpo, who has been named league MVP each of the last two seasons. According to AP News, he became just the third player ever this past season (along with Michael Jordan and Hakeem Olajuwon) to win both MVP and Defensive Player of the Year in the same season.

Content sponsored by Outbrain