With the NFL Draft around the corner on April 26, teams always believe their first few picks can become cornerstones on their roster for many years to come. Of course, that often isn’t the case.

Here’s a look at the best player selected at each draft position from 1-16 since 2000. As a subjective list, many of these choices can be debated. An example is the 11th pick. Is it Ben Roethlisberger who has exhibited excellent quarterback play for 14 years or three-time Defensive Player of the Year J.J. Watt? Was the best 14th overall selection since 2000 Darrelle Revis or Earl Thomas?

The second pick is stacked with elite talent such as Von Miller, Julius Peppers, and Calvin Johnson.

Players drafted last year are not included even for honorable mention as it takes more than one year to see how well a player’s NFL career is going. Tomorrow, picks 17-32 will be looked at.

1. Eli Manning (2004)

Two Super Bowl wins, two Super Bowl MVPs, and the second-longest consecutive start streak by a quarterback at 210 are just a few reasons why Manning gets the edge for first overall picks.

Last year’s #1 selection: Myles Garrett (DE)

Honorable mentions: Michael Vick (2001), Carson Palmer (2003), Alex Smith (2005), Mario Williams (2006), Jake Long (2008), Matthew Stafford (2009), Cam Newton (2011), Andrew Luck (2012), Jadeveon Clowney (2014), Jared Goff (2016)

2. Von Miller (2011)

Miller started off his career as the Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2011.

He has amassed 83.5 sacks already in seven years and was named Super Bowl 50 MVP.

Last year’s #2 selection: Mitchell Trubisky (QB)

Honorable mentions: Leonard Davis (2001), Julius Peppers (2002), Reggie Bush (2006), Calvin Johnson (2007), Chris Long (2008), Ndamukong Suh (2010), Marcus Mariota (2015), Carson Wentz (2016)

3. Larry Fitzgerald (2004)

Fitzgerald has been named a Pro Bowler 11 times in his 14 seasons.

He ranks third all-time with 1,234 receptions and 15,545 receiving yards while ranking eighth with 110 receiving touchdowns.

Last year’s #3 selection: Solomon Thomas (DE)

Honorable mentions: Chris Samuels (2000), Andre Johnson (2003), Joe Thomas (2007), Matt Ryan (2008), Gerald McCoy (2010), Marcell Dareus (2011), Joey Bosa (2016)

4. A.J. Green (2011)

A Pro Bowler in all seven of his seasons, Green already has 556 catches for 8,213 yards and 57 touchdowns.

Last year’s #4 selection: Leonard Fournette (RB)

Honorable mentions: Justin Smith (2001), Phillip Rivers (2004), D’Brickashaw Ferguson (2006), Trent Williams (2010), Lane Johnson (2013), Amari Cooper (2015), Ezekiel Elliott (2016)

5. LaDainian Tomlinson (2001)

Tomlinson set an NFL-record scoring 31 touchdowns in 2006. His 145 career rushing touchdowns place him second all-time with only Emmitt Smith having more.

Last year's #5 selection: Corey Davis (WR)

Honorable mentions: Jamal Lewis (2000), Terence Newman (2003), Sean Taylor (2004), Eric Berry (2010), Patrick Peterson (2011), Ezekiel Ansah (2013), Khalil Mack (2014), Brandon Scherff (2015), Jalen Ramsey (2016)

6. Julio Jones (2011)

Jones’ 136 receptions in 2015 is tied for the second-most in league history.

He has averaged approximately 103 catches for 1,579 yards over the last four years.

Last year's #6 selection: Jamal Adams (S)

Honorable mentions: Richard Seymour (2001), Vernon Davis (2006), Russell Okung (2010), Leonard Williams (2015)

7. Adrian Peterson (2007)

In his MVP season of 2012, Peterson rushed for an astounding 2,097 yards which was just eight yards shy of Eric Dickerson’s league record. He ran for at least 10 touchdowns in eight of his first nine years (didn’t in 2014 as he played in just one game).

Last year’s #7 selection: Mike Williams (WR)

Honorable mentions: Thomas Jones (2000), Andre Carter (2001), Bryant McKinnie (2002), Joe Haden (2010), Mike Evans (2014)

8. Roy Williams (2002)

Williams was named to five straight Pro Bowls as a safety from 2003-07 and intercepted 20 passes in his nine-year career.

Last year’s #8 selection: Christian McCaffrey (RB)

Honorable mentions: Plaxico Burress (2000), Jordan Gross (2003), DeAngelo Hall (2004), Antrel Rolle (2005), Donte Whitner (2006), Vic Beasley (2015), Jack Conklin (2016)

9. Brian Urlacher (2000)

The 2005 Defensive Player of the Year, Urlacher was inducted into the Hall of Fame this year. He is one of just five players with at least 40 career sacks and 20 career interceptions.

Last year’s #9 selection: John Ross (WR)

Honorable mentions: John Henderson (2002), Kevin Williams (2003), Tyron Smith (2011), Luke Kuechly (2012), Anthony Barr (2014)

10. Terrell Suggs (2003)

With 125.5 career sacks, Suggs is tied for 17th on the all-time list. He was the Defensive Player of the Year in 2011.

Last year’s #10 selection: Patrick Mahomes (QB)

Honorable mentions: Jerod Mayo (2008), Michael Crabtree (2009), Stephon Gilmore (2012), Todd Gurley (2015)

11. Ben Roethlisberger (2004)

Now 14 seasons into his career, Roethlisberger has been named to the last four Pro Bowls. He was a Super Bowl-winning quarterback twice and has thrown for 51,065 yards and 329 touchdowns in his career.

Last year’s #11 selection: Marshon Lattimore (CB)

Honorable mentions: Dan Morgan (2001), Dwight Freeney (2002), Demarcus Ware (2005), Patrick Willis (2007), J.J. Watt (2011), Dontari Poe (2012), Taylor Lewan (2014)

12. Odell Beckham Jr. (2014)

All Beckham did over his first three seasons from 2014-16 was catch 288 balls for 4,122 yards and 35 touchdowns.

Last year’s #12 selection: Deshaun Watson (QB)

Honorable mentions: Shaun Ellis (2000), Jonathan Vilma (2004), Shawne Merriman (2005), Haloti Ngata (2006), Marshawn Lynch (2007), Ryan Clady (2008), Fletcher Cox (2012)

13. Aaron Donald (2014)

The reigning Defensive Player of the Year, Donald has been named First Team All-Pro each of the last three seasons. He has finished with at least eight sacks in all four years of his career at the defensive tackle position.

Last year’s #13 selection: Haason Reddick (LB)

Honorable mentions: John Abraham (2000), Marcus Stroud (2001), Lee Evans (2004), Jammal Brown (2005), Jonathan Stewart (2008), Brian Orakpo (2009)

14. Darrelle Revis (2007)

At one time, Revis was seen as arguably the best cornerback in the game.

He has intercepted 29 career passes, been named to seven Pro Bowls, and been a First Team All-Pro member four times.

Last year’s #14 selection: Derek Barnett (DE)

Honorable mentions: Jeremy Shockey (2002), Tommie Harris (2004), Thomas Davis (2005), Malcolm Jenkins (2009), Earl Thomas (2010), Robert Quinn (2011), Star Lotuleli (2013)

15. Albert Haynesworth (2002)

Many remember Haynesworth for underperforming after the huge deal he was given by the Redskins, but he was a force at defensive tackle for the Titans. He finished in the top-four of Defensive Player of the Year voting in both 2007 and 2008.

Last year’s #15 selection: Malik Hooker (S)

Honorable mentions: Deltha O’Neal (2000), Derrick Johnson (2005), Lawrence Timmons (2007), Branden Albert (2008), Jason Pierre-Paul (2010), Mike Pouncey (2011), Melvin Gordon (2015)

16. Troy Polamalu (2003)

Polamalu was named to eight Pro Bowls, was a four-time First Team All-Pro member, won two Super Bowls with the Steelers, and was the 2010 Defensive Player of the Year.

Last year's #16 selection: Marlon Humphrey (CB)

Honorable mentions: Julian Peterson (2000), Santana Moss (2001), Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (2008), Derrick Morgan (2010), Ryan Kerrigan (2011), Zack Martin (2014)