According to Entertainment Weekly, the special premiere for "Star Trek Discovery" at CBS drew 9.6 million viewers to the network last night. This number might increase, due to updates or adjustments.

With a key demo rating of 1.9, something great for a premiere. The exact number for the Cbs All Access, where the TV show will air the rest of its season, still not been made available. However, the digital platform had a record for subscriber sign-ups in a single day. The previous mark was this year for the Grammy Awards.

"Star Trek Discovery" is the newest series to the Star Trek Franchise, roughly 12 years after "Enterprise" ended.

Sonequa Martin-Green, Michelle Yeoh, Jason Isaacs, Doug Jones, and Anthony Rapp are a few of the cast members.

Netflix is the international distributor of the show. The streaming service is also where every show made for the franchise can be watched.

CBS All Access

CBS, one of the four major broadcast networks in the U.S., has become more engaging into bringing new shows to be available only on its digital platform.

It all started in May, 2016, with the confirmation "The Good Fight," the spin-off from "The Good Wife." Written by Michelle King, Robert King, and Phil Alden Robinson, the show follows Diane Lockhart (Christine Branski) after she lost all her fund. Rose Leslie, Cush Jumbo, and Justin Bartha are the cast members.

The show already got a second season.

Other confirmed TV shows are "Strange Angel," "Things You Should Already Know," "No Activity" (from Will Farrell's production company), "$1," and "The Fourth Monkey," based on the book from J.D. Barker. All with the premiere dates to be decided.

Star Trek franchise

Created by Gene Roddenberry, the first show premiered on September, 8th 1966 on NBC.

Known as "The Original Series," the show was the first introduction to Kirk and Spock, portrayed by William Shatner and Leonard Nimoy, and lasted until 1969.

After that, an animated series, "The Next Generation," "Deep Space Nine," "Voyager," and "Enterprise" were a few of the spin-offs for the franchise.

J.J. Abrams (known for being the creator of "Lost", "Alias", and "Fringe") decided to bring the original characters back.

In 2009, it was released "Star Trek," lead by Chris Pine as Captain Kirk and Zachary Quinto as Spock. In 2013, the sequel, "Star Trek Into Darkness," was released, with Benedict Cumberbatch portraying Khan. Then in 2016 "Star Trek Beyond" with Idris Elba as Krall was released.

These movies have Zoë Saldana, John Cho, Karl Urban, Anton Yelchin, Simon Pegg, Bruce Greenwood as the Enterprise crew. Jennifer Morrison, Winona Ryder, Chris Hemsworth, Ben Cross, Victor Graber, and Sofia Boutella appeared in the trilogy.