According to TVLine, "Saturday Night Live" will continue air live nationally in its 43rd season, with the premiere happening on September, 30. Each episode will air at 11:30 pm ET, 8:30 p.m. PT, with both the Mountain and Pacific time zones having a repeat at 11:30 p.m. their time as well.

This season will begin with Ryan Gosling as host and Jay-Z as musical guest.

"SNL" started to air live nationally in April, a decision made by NBC that resulted in an 11 percent growth. The reason for the change was said to be the belief that people from different time zones weren't interested in watching a tape-delayed show.

'SNL' at the 2017 Emmys

Nominated for 22 awards, "Saturday Night Live" won nine awards at the 69th Primetime Emmy Awards, hosted by Stephen Colbert. The show was one of the biggest winners together with "The Handmaid's Tale" and "Big Little Lies."

The variety show won two awards for its cast and two for hosts. Alec Baldwin won for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for his portrayal of Donald Trump during the 42nd season. Kate McKinnon won the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series award for the second year, this time for her portrayal of Hilary Clinton. The comedian competed with fellow co-stars Leslie Jones and Vanessa Bayer.

Melissa McCarthy and Dave Chappelle won each for their work as hosts.

The variety show also won Outstanding Directing for a Variety Series (Don Roy King when Jimmy Fallon served as host) and Outstanding Variety Sketch Series.


"Saturday Night Live" premiered on NBC on October 11, 1975, and has more than four decades on the air. As a variety sketch show, with parodies of contemporary culture and politics, the show has a large number of people that are mainstays in comedy now.

Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Seth Meyers, Tracy Morgan, Jimmy Fallon, Kristen Wiig and Maya Rudolph are just to name a few.

With a celebrity host (delivering a monologue and participating on the sketches) and a musical guest on every episode, the show has more than 50 Primetime Emmy Awards, two Peabody Awards and three Writers Guild Awards of America.

In the year of 2000, TV Guide Magazine named "SNL" as one of the "50 Greatest TV Shows of All Time," ranked 10th on the list. Time Magazine had a similar ranking in 2007.

The cast of the 43rd season will include Beck Bennet, Kate McKinnon, Leslie Jones, Aidy Bryant, Michael Che, Pete Davidson, Colin Jost, Kyle Mooney, Cecily Strong and Kenan Thompson.