Production begins in April for the third season of “Mr. Robot,” the USA Network announced Friday. The new season will premiere in October on the network with two actors added to the regular series cast. Added to the regular cast this season is BD Wong, who has made several guest appearances on the program as Whiterose/Zhang, the leader of the Dark Army. The character is a transgender woman who also serves as the Chinese minister of security. The army is a computer hacking organization primarily based in China.

Wong’s past movie roles include appearances in “Jurassic Park,” “Jurassic World,” “Father of the Bride,” “Father of the Bride II” and as the voice of Shang in “Mulan” and “Mulan II.” His television work includes parts on “The X-Files,” “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit,” “Madam Secretary” and “Gotham.”

Bobby Cannavale

Joining the cast with a new character is Bobby Cannavale.

He will portray Irving, a used-car salesman. Fans of the TV show “Will & Grace” will remember Cannavale as Will Truman’s boyfriend, Officer Vince D’Angelo.

He won an Emmy Award for his performance in 2005. He earned another Emmy eight years later for his portrayal of Gyp Rosetti in “Boardwalk Empire.” Cannavale has also earned two Tony Awards for his work on stage. He was nominated for two other Emmy Awards for “Nurse Jackie.” He has appeared in such movies as “Annie,” “Antman” and “Spy.”

Awards for ‘Mr. Robot’

In addition to a large fan base, “Mr. Robot” has earned high praise from television critics. Rami Malek, who portrays Elliot Alderson in the series, earned a Primetime Emmy Award for Lead Actor in a Drama Series.

It was named the Best Television Series - Drama at the 2016 Golden Globe Awards.

At the same ceremony, Christian Slater earned the award for Best Supporting Actor - Series, Miniseries or Television Film. Other awards have been won for the series at a variety of other awards shows, including the Gotham Independent Film Awards, American Film Institute Awards, Satellite Awards, Critics’ Choice Television Awards and Peabody Awards.