The 2016-17 Grand Prix of Figure Skating continued this weekend in Sapporo, Japan with the 2016 NHK Trophy. The results from the sixth and last preliminary event in the prestigious ISU series sent some to the 2016 Grand Prix Final, which is set to take place next month in Marseille, France, but they also left other talented, internationally regarded skaters out in the cold.

Nathan Chen, Adam Rippon secure 2016 Grand Prix Final berths

In the men's singles competition at the 2016 NHK Trophy, the results saw home crowd favorite and Olympic champion Yuzuru Hanyu secure the gold with an impressive 301.47.

American Nathan Chen took the silver (268.91), while Japan's Keiji Tanaka posted a 248.44 to earn the bronze.

Chen's silver medal was good enough to secure the teen a spot in the 2016-17 Grand Prix Final, just a year after he claimed the equivalent junior-level title. Also making the cut was American Adam Rippon, who hung on to take the sixth and final berth. Team USA's Jason Brown had a shot at making the event, but his seventh place (218.47) finish at NHK wasn't enough to make the cut. The last American man to qualify was Jeremy Abbott back in 2011; the last American men to medal at a Grand Prix Final were Evan Lysacek and Johnny Weir, who took gold and bronze, respectively, in 2009.

Ashley Wagner out as Pogorilaya, Miyahara place one-two in 2016 NHK Trophy results

In women's singles skating, Russia's Anna Pogorilaya won both the short and long programs to claim her second gold medal of the series with a 210.86. Satoko Miyahara earned the silver medal (198.00), and Maria Sotskova claimed the bronze (195.88).

All three women secured berths in the 2016-17 Grand Prix Final, which left American Ashley Wagner --who needed one of the three to falter in order to earn her fifth straight trip to the Final-- officially out of the mix, unless someone withdraws.

Canadians are tops in pairs, ice dancing

In the pairs competition, Canadians Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford won the gold (204.56), while a pair of Chinese couples --Cheng Peng and Yang Jin (196.87), and Xuehan Wang and Lei Wang (185.32)-- earned silver and bronze.

The top two pairs will compete in Marseille.

Finally, in ice dancing, the 2016 NHK Trophy short dance results saw former world champions Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir of Canada earn an edge over reigning world champs Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron of France by posting a new world record of 79.47. Although the long dance has yet to be contested, both couples have already won series gold medals and will almost certainly round out the 2016-17 Grand Prix Final roster, which will leave reigning title holders Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje out of the mix. The free dance is set to be contested beginning at 11:45 AM local time on Nov. 27, which equates to 6:45 PM Pacific on Nov. 26.

Don't miss our page on Facebook!