The semi-finalists for the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class have been announced after the original 96 player nominee list was shortened down to 26. The list of semi-finalists was revealed during the "Gold Jacket Semi-Finalists Special" on the NFL network. The 26 semi-finalists, which consist of 15 offensive stars, eight defensive stalwarts, two coaches and one kicker, will be reduced down to just 15 finalists at the start of the New Year.

First-year eligibles

The first-year eligibles for the 2017 Hall of Fame class noticeably include San Diego Chargers running back and the 2006 NFL Most Valuable Player, LaDanian Tomlinson.

During 11 seasons with the San Diego Chargers and the New York Jets, Tomlinson was a six-time All-Pro and a five-time Pro-Bowl selection. The 37-year-old also ranks third in the NFL for career touchdowns, fifth in career rushing yards and seventh in all-purpose yards. Among the other first-year eligibles for the class of 2017 were defensive end Jason Taylor, safety Brian Dawkins and wide receiver Hines Ward.

Other noticeable names

The aforementioned players will also be joined by 2016 finalists such as Terrell Owens, John Lynch, Kurt Warne, Don Coryell and Terrell Davis. Davis, a former Denver Broncos running back, has now made the semi-finalist list for the hall of fame 11 times, more than any other nominee this year.

The eventual 15 finalists will join senior finalist Kenny Easley and 2017 Contributor Finalists Jerry Jones and Paul Tagliabue when the vote is made by the 48 member selection committee. That will happen the night before next year's Superbowl LI, when between four to eight of the nominees will be inducted into the 2017 Hall of Fame.

This season's MVP will be announced in February, with Tom Brady of the New England Patriots looking like the favorite for the award at the moment.

Complete list of NFL Hall of Fame 2017 semi-finalists

  • Morten Andersen
  • Steve Atwater
  • Tony Boselli
  • Isaac Bruce
  • Don Coryell
  • Roger Craig
  • Terrell Davis
  • Brian Dawkins
  • Alan Faneca
  • Chris Hinton
  • Torry Holt
  • Joe Jacoby
  • Edgerrin James
  • Jimmy Johnson
  • Mike Kenn
  • Ty Law
  • John Lynch
  • Clay Matthews
  • Kevin Mawae
  • Karl Mecklenburg
  • Terrell Owens
  • Jason Taylor
  • LaDanian Tomlinson
  • Hines Ward
  • Kurt Warner
  • Darren Woodson
Follow the page NFL
Don't miss our page on Facebook!