The World Chess Championship 2016 being played being played between Magnus Carlsen and Sergey Karjakin in New York has reached the stage where the winner will be decided in a series of blitz games. The tie-breaker will be held on Wednesday.

The points are tied 6 each after 12 games between defending World Champion Carlsen of Norway and challenger Karjakin from Russia.

Tie-breaker live updates:

Carlsen defeats Karjakin to retain World Chess Championship in New York

4th game won by Carlsen to win the title

1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 d6 3. d4 cxd4 4. Nxd4 Nf6 5. f3 e5 6. Nb3 Be7 7. c4 a5 8. Be3 a4 9. Nc1 O-O 10.

Nc3 Qa5 11. Qd2 Na6 12. Be2 Nc5 13. O-O Bd7 14. Rb1 Rfc8 15. b4 axb3 16. axb3 Qd8 17. Nd3 Ne6 18. Nb4 Bc6 19. Rfd1 h5 20. Bf1 h4 21. Qf2 Nd7 22. g3 Ra3 23. Bh3 Rca8 24. Nc2 R3a6 25. Nb4 Ra5 26. Nc2 b6 27. Rd2 Qc7 28. Rbd1 Bf8 29. gxh4 Nf4 30. Bxf4 exf4 31. Bxd7 Qxd7 32. Nb4 Ra3 33. Nxc6 Qxc6 34. Nb5 Rxb3 35. Nd4 Qxc4 36. Nxb3 Qxb3 37. Qe2 Be7 38. Kg2 Qe6 39. h5 Ra3 40. Rd3 Ra2 41. R3d2 Ra3 42. Rd3 Ra7 43. Rd5 Rc7 44. Qd2 Qf6 45. Rf5 Qh4 46. Rc1 Ra7 47. Qxf4 Ra2+ 48. Kh1 Qf2 49. Rc8+ Kh7 50. Qh6+ 1-0

The first game ended in a draw after 37 moves

1.e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nc6 3. Bb5 a6 4. Ba4 Nf6 5. O-O Be7 6. d3 b5 7. Bb3 d6 8. a3 O-O 9. Nc3 Nb8 10. Ne2 c5 11. Ng3 Nc6 12. c3 Rb8 13. h3 a5 14. a4 b4 15. Re1 Be6 16.

Bc4 h6 17. Be3 Qc8 18. Qe2 Rd8 19. Bxe6 fxe6 20. d4 bxc3 21. bxc3 cxd4 22. cxd4 exd4 23. Nxd4 Nxd4 24. Bxd4 Rb4 25. Rec1 Qd7 26. Bc3 Rxa4 27. Bxa5 Rxa1 28. Rxa1 Ra8 29. Bc3 Rxa1+ 30. Bxa1 Qc6 31. Kh2 Kf7 32. Bb2 Qc5 33. f4 Bd8 34. e5 dxe5 35. Bxe5 Bb6 36. Qd1 Qd5 37. Qxd5 ½-½

After seven continuous draws, Karjakin won the eighth match.

Carlsen also won the tenth game and tied the score. The rest of the games were all drawn.

The 12th and last game ended in a tame draw after just 30 minutes and 34 moves as both players looked reluctant to take risks.

Interesting blitz game contest on Wednesday:

The final games will start with a four-game rapid chess competition.

If this series is tied, then up to 5 two-game series of blitz will be held. The match will end and the winner will be declared if any player wins in any two-game match.

If still there is tie after the 4 rapid and 10 blitz games, an Armageddon game will be played to split the tie.

Millions of chess fans across are expected to watch this once in a lifetime blitz games in a world cup competition.

Carlsen had become to world champion defeating India's Vishwanathan Anand in the World Championship match held in Chennai in 2013. Former World Champion Gary Kasparov who was the supporter of Carlsen had flew down from Russia to Chennai to watch the game. He was sitting in the first rows of the audience as a mere spectator.

There is a huge prize money of nearly one million euros to the players as the match has reached the tie-breaker stage.

Live analysis and online streaming details:

Many chess grandmasters and former world champions will participate in the analysis of this grand competition on various websites and TV channels starting 12:00 midnight India time.

The event is expected to attract record viewership across the world as chess is a popular indoor sport in many countries including India.

The live updates and online stream can be watched at the official website

Don't miss our page on Facebook!