Baseball announced the 2016 winners of the Cy Young Award on Tuesday, given out to the best pitcher in each league.

NL Cy Young

In the National League, Washington Nationals starting pitcher Max Scherzer earned 25 of 30 first place votes to become the first winner of the award in the history of the franchise. Scherzer previously won the AL Cy Young Award with the Detroit Tigers in 2013, making him just the sixth pitcher to win the award in both leagues, joining Gaylord Perry, Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, and Roy Halladay with the historic achievement.

Scherzer had 284 strikeouts and a WHIP of 0.97, both of which led the MLB.

He also had the most wins, innings pitched, and best pitcher's Wins Above Replacement in the NL. Voters were able to look past his 31 home runs given up, which was also tops in the NL. His most complete performance of the season came against his former team in May, when he recorded just the fourth 20-strikeout performance in MLB history.

Jon Lester of the Chicago Cubs finished second in the NL Cy Young race with one first-place vote, while teammate Kyle Hendricks finished third with two first-place votes.

AL Cy Young

In the American League, Boston Red Sox starting pitcher Rick Porcello won one of the closer Cy Young races in recent memory. He earned eight first-place votes in the voting.

After struggling last year, Porcello became a winner for the AL East champion Red Sox this season.

His remarkable Cy Young-worthy record was 22-4, with a 3.15 ERA. He had the best strikeout-to-walk ratio in the American League, and ranked highly in WHIP, FIP, and innings pitched.

Controversy immediately ensued following the release of the ballots, with supermodel Kate Upton tweeting about the flawed voting process and the writers who left her husband, Detroit Tigers pitcher Justin Verlander, off the ballot entirely; if he was included on the two ballots he was missing from, he likely would've taken home the award.

Verlander ended up finishing second in the Cy Young race, despite his AL leading 14 first-place votes. Cleveland Indians pitcher Corey Kluber finished third.

Follow the page MLB
Don't miss our page on Facebook!