On Monday, November 30, 2015, FIFA announced the three nominees for the Ballon D'or that will be presented on January 11, 2016 in Switzerland. Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar Jr. were chosen to compete for the most important award that is given at an individual level.

This will be the tenth time that Lionel Messi takes part in this ceremony, who already knows what it is to be crowned as the king of Football four times (2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012). The Argentina forward goes in as the favorite due the victories and goals which helped Barcelona to get the treble last season (Liga, Champions League and Copa del Rey).

Messi also was the architect of the victory of the Super Cup by scoring two goals in the 5-4 win against Seville, in August.

Meanwhile, Neymar Jr.makes his debut as a Ballon d'Or nominee thanks to the same role he had with Messi in obtaining treble. In 2015 "Ney" has scored 41 goals, making him one of the deadliest strikers in the world. It's not for nothing that he was the scorer of the Champions League last season with 10 goals and is currently the top scorer in the Liga with 14 goals. Regarding his nomination, the Brazilian is set as second favorite for the award, after his teammate Lionel Messi.

Third on the list is the always outstanding player of Real Madrid, Cristiano Ronaldo, even though last season wasn't what he expected since his team didn't win any important trophy.

However, his goals and leadership speak for themselves and that made him reach the candidacy for the third spot. Although the white club does not pass through the best moments, Ronaldo remains the main factor of the triumphs of Rafa Benitez's side. The '7' white, bears 9 goals in the league and scored 10 goals in the last Champions League, being equal alongside Messi and Neymar.

For 'CR7' this will be an opportunity to reach his fourth Ballon D'or.

The "fight" of the coaches

Luis Enrique (Barcelona), Josep Guardiola (Bayern Munich) and Jorge Sampaoli (Chile Coach) were also announced as the three coaches who expect to receive the award for "FIFA World Coach." The coach of Barcelona was chosen by his victorious campaign from 2014 to 2015 by taking his team to the maximum level by winning the treble (Liga, Copa del Rey and Champions), while the Catalan Guardiola is competing for obtaining the Bundesliga last season, and the Argentinian coach Jorge Sampaoli is running alongside for the win in Chile this year at the Copa América.

Out of the three, only "Pep" has won this award, in 2009 and 2011 season.

Puskas Award for the best goal of the year

The finalists for the FIFA Puskás Award 2015 were also announced on Monday. This time, Leo Messi with his goal against Athletic Club in the final of the Copa del Rey, Alessandro Florenzi for his monumental score from midfield to Barcelona in the Champions League and Wendell Lira for his acrobatic goal with Goianesia will be contesting the award for best goal of the year.

More news: Who will win the Premier League?, Iowa Football Coach Kirk Ferentz up for Coach of the Year Award

Follow the page NFL
Don't miss our page on Facebook!