The 2015 Heisman Trophy will be awarded tonight at 8 pm, and while no one knows for sure who the recipient of this prestigious award will be, some of the players in the running include Alabama running back Derrick Henry, as well as Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey, and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson.

Out of the three, the favorite for the 2015 Heisman Trophy is Derrick Henry, a 6-foot-3, 242-pound junior from Yulee, Florida who has overpowered his SEC competition, most markedly when he played in a game against Auburn in the Iron Bowl, as well as his performance against Florida in the SEC Championship Game.

Henry also broke Herschel Walker's one season SEC rushing record, as well as tying the single season rushing touchdown record of Tim Tebow.

Henry is favorite for the 2015 Heisman Trophy Award

Additionally, Henry has already received the Doak Walker Award, which is given to the country’s best running back, as well as the Maxwell Award, which is presented to the country’s top college Football player. This is the 5th time in the last seven seasons that a player from Alabama has been a Heisman finalist.

So, currently, many are betting on Henry as the 2015 Heisman Trophy recipient. He is the -500 favorite, with McCaffrey coming in second with +325, and Watson in third rather far behind for +1200. The experts say Henry is on top due to both the quality he has shown and the quantity of the things he has accomplished.

Should Henry beat out both McCaffrey and Watson, they are sophomores, so would be eligible again for the Heisman Trophy award.

History and background of Heisman Trophy

Created in 1935, the Heisman Trophy is also known as the Heisman Memorial Trophy or The Heisman, and it’s given out every year to the top player in the US for college football, whose performance during the season best shows their pursuit of excellence with integrity.

The trophy was named in honor of the Downtown Athletic Club’s athletic director, John Heisman after his death. It is the oldest of several football awards for college football.

Follow the page NFL
Don't miss our page on Facebook!