Laurie Hernandez was crowned the winner of "Dancing With The Stars" season 23 during the closing moments of the Nov. 22 finale on ABC. Hernandez and professional dance partner Valentin Chmerkovskiy bested runners-up James Hinchcliffe and Sharna Burgess and third-place finishers Calvin Johnson Jr. and Lindsay Arnold to become the latest winners of the glittering Mirrorball Trophy. The win is Chmerkovskiy's second as a "DWTS" pro coach; he previously took the season 20 title with model and actress Rumer Willis.

In addition to the presentation of the trophy, the "Dancing with the Stars" season 23 finale featured plenty of live entertainment, including appearances by former contestants including Ryan Lochte, Rick Perry and others, as well as musical offerings by fourth-place finisher Jana Kramer, who performed a rendition of her hit single "Circles," season 23's Kenny "Babyface" Edmonds and Vanilla Ice, and season 21's Andy Grammer.

Finale night also included a 24-hour fusion challenge, which featured the top three finalists each combining two very different dance styles to create a single cohesive routine.

'DWTS' history for Laurie Hernandez

Hernandez entered "Dancing with the Stars" season 23 as most oddsmakers' favorite to take the title, and she and Chmerkovskiy never disappointed judges Carrie Ann Inaba, Len Goodman, Julianne Hough, and Bruno Tonioli nor voters with their succession of high-energy, technically sound routines. They began their tenure on the hit reality TV show on a high note with a leaderboard-topping cha cha to "American Girl," and finished up the first night of the finals with a fun-filled, action-packed freestyle that celebrated the joy of youth.

At the age of 16, Hernandez is the youngest celebrity to ever win the "Dancing with the Stars" title. The record was previously shared by wildlife conservationist Bindi Irwin and Olympic gold medalist Shawn Johnson, who were both 17 years old when they won their respective seasons.

Looking back at other 'DWTS' winners

Hernandez is the second gymnast to claim the "Dancing with the Stars" title; the first was Johnson, who won season eight with Mark Ballas. Other recent Mirrorball Trophy winners of the hit reality dance competition have included "America's Next Top Model" winner Nyle DiMarco and Peta Murgatroyd (season 22), wildlife conservationist Bindi Irwin and Derek Hough (season 21), and model and actress Rumer Willis and Valentin Chmerkovskiy (season 20).

"Dancing with the Stars" will return to ABC next spring with the series' 24th season. Keep an eye out for spoilers beginning in mid-February of 2017.

Don't miss our page on Facebook!