When "#Battlefield 1" was released on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC in October last year, EA DICE did not expect an overwhelmingly positive response to the first person shooter's single-player campaign.

Overall, the game received positive reviews from critics and players alike, as "Battlefield 1" showed major improvements from its predecessor, "Battlefield 4." Recently, EA hinted at a possible single-player DLC for the game.

Players are thoroughly enjoying the single-player campaign of 'Battlefield 1'

In a recent interview with Kotaku, "They Shall Not Pass" DLC lead designer Valerian Noghin shared that while "Battlefield 1" opens with a bleak message about not surviving the war, there was an overwhelmingly positive response to the way the single-player campaign was designed.

Advertisements
Advertisements

Because of this, it would only be a matter of time before someone asked the question: will there be a single-player DLC after "They Shall Not Pass?"

"Since the single-player was so successful, it’s definitely on our radar," Noghin told Kotaku. While he says that the studio is currently focused on the four multiplayer-exclusive expansions that begins with "They Shall Not Pass," he admitted, "We're listening, and we know that people really appreciated the single-player. So did we."

'They Shall Not Pass' DLC arrives today, features the French Army and tons of new weapons

The first of four major expansions arriving at "Battlefield 1" will be made available on PC today via Origins. Players can look forward to exploring four new French maps and two new Operations. As for weapons, players will enjoy battling it out with six unlockable weapons, four melee weapons, and a new Char 2C tank.

Advertisements

There's also a new elite class coming with the "They Shall Not Pass" DLC, and that's the Trench Raider. Players will also be able to experience a new mode called Frontlines.

Meanwhile, "Battlefield 1" players should expect the addition of the Ribeyrolles 1918 automatic rifle, two variants of the RSC 1917 semi-automatic rifle (exclusively for medics), two variants of the Chauchat light machine gun, and the Lebel Model 1886 sniper with the arrival of "They Shall Not Pass" today.

Note that "Battlefield 1" will be offline for a couple of hours today for the release of "They Shall Not Pass" DLC. The game will be offline on PC at 1 a.m. PST/4 a.m. EST on PC, and 3 a.m. PST/6 a.m EST for PlayStation 4.

Players on Xbox One should expect the game to be offline at 5 a.m. PST/8 a.m. EST.

Check out the trailer below to get a glimpse of what's to come.

#Single Player