The Voice of America, shortened to The Voice, is an American reality talent show aired on NBC. The concept behind the show is to find new American singing talents contested by aspiring singers drawn from public auditions. 

The winner of The Voice is determined by television viewers voting by telephone, Internet, SMS texting, and iTunes purchases of the artists' vocal performances.

The winners of the competition also receive an amount of  $100,000 as a prize and a record deal with Universal Music Group.

The Voice of America employs four vocal coaches who critique the participants' performances and guide their teams of selected artists through the remainder of the season. They also compete among themselves to ensure that one of their team members wins the final competition, thus making them the winning coach.

Members of the coaching panel included famous singers like Maroon 5's Adam Levine, Blake Shelton, Christina Aguilera (season 1, 2, 3, 5, 8 and 10), CeeLo Green (season 1, 2, 3 and 5), Shakira (season 4 and 6), Usher (season 4 and 6), Gwen Stefani (season 7 and 9), Pharrell (season 7, 8, 9 and 10), Miley Cyrus (season 11) and Alicia Keys (season 11). 

The Voice began airing on April 26, 2011, as a spring season program. The show resulted in a big a hit for NBC and was subsequently expanded into a second fall cycle when season three premiered on September 10, 2012. The series has since been renewed twice a year for an eleventh season which is set to premiere on September 19, 2016. 

The winners of the ten seasons of The Voice aired until now have been (in order):

  • Season 1 (premiered on April 26th 2011): Javier Colon
  • Season 2 (premiered on February 5th 2012): Jermaine Paul
  • Season 3 (premiered on September 10th 2012): Cassadee Pope
  • Season 4 (premiered on March 25th 2013): Danielle Bradbery
  • Season 5 (premiered on September 23rd 2013): Tessanne Chin
  • Season 6 (premiered on February 24th 2014): Josh Kaufman
  • Season 7 (premiered on September 22nd 2014): Craig Wayne Boyd
  • Season 8 (premiered on February 23rd 2015): Sawyer Fredericks
  • Season 9 (premiered on September 21st 2015: Jordan Smith
  • Season 10 (premiered on February 29th 2016): Alisan Porter.
The Voice's eleventh season premiered on September 19, 2016 with coaches Adam Levine, Benjamin Shelton, and new coaches Miley Cyrus and Alicia Keys